Shortly after Semana Santa, I returned to Seville for the April fair. I loved Seville the first time I went so I was excited to see it again with less of the crowds from the Easter celebrations. My friend Lydia and I took a blabla car and we arrived at around 1pm. We gave in to our temptations of going to Starbucks and had a drink and a muffin while we waited for my friend from home, who is also studying in Spain, to arrive with her friend. They eventually arrived and we all headed towards the area where the fair is held.

There was such a brilliant buzz and atmosphere in Seville, everybody was elegantly dressed – the women in flamenco dresses and the men in trajes cortos (short suits). People were arriving on horse back and carriages at the main gate so we took some pictures with them. As we walked around the fair, we could see all the multi-coloured casetas which the citizens of Seville privately rent for their families and friends. The tents were beautifully decorated and we could see all the exciting goings on inside as we walked past, hoping someone would by chance offer us to join them.

At the far side of all the tents, there was a fun fair with lots of different rides and attractions. It reminded me of Hull Fair from my hometown, which comes in October, but with better weather of course. We had a go on a roller coaster ride, which got us a bit wet but we dried in seconds from the sun. Afterwards we went for some dinner back in the city centre before realising I had left my wallet in Starbucks (anybody that knows me, knows I have a talent for losing my wallet). Luckily they still had it and it was returned to me and we could continue enjoying our day.

The night started to draw in as we walked back to the fair and it looked totally different, lit up by the bright flashing lights and a fuller crowd of people. We took a ride on the Ferris wheel to get an aerial view of Seville by night. It was faster than we imagined and really wobbly too, it was pretty scary but we got some good snaps so it was worth it. As the wheel came to a stop we could feel drops of rain coming from the sky and we looked at each other in shock and said “no!?” and with that the heavens opened and we were drenched. We ran to the nearest pop up bar (any excuse) and had a drink and some patatas bravas while we waited for it to blow over.

The rain slowed so we took the opportunity to move on and find a public tent to experience la feria like all the other people that couldn’t afford a private tent. And it was pretty nice, we had a bit of a dance and tried the traditional ‘rebujito’ a type of sherry that we reeeaaally didn’t like but of course drank anyway. As we didn’t have a place to stay for the night, we were getting the first bus back in the morning, we decided to leave the feria and make our way to a bar where we could have a seat and get away from the crowd.

Overall it was great to experience la Feria de Sevilla for the first time with good company and partly good weather. But I think it would have been a little bit better if we’d have known somebody from Seville with a private caseta to be able to have a more authentic experience.

